UC Davis Biomedical Engineering


Musculoskeletal Biomechanics

Biomechanics in its broadest sense is mechanics (that is the study of loads, motion, stress, and strain of solids and fluids) applied to biological systems. Musculoskeletal Biomechanics is a branch of biomechanics specifically focussing on the musculoskeletal system. This includes studies of the behavior of isolated tissues including bone, cartilage, ligament, tendon, muscle, and nerve, as well as studies of the interaction between these tissues and gross movement and stability. The faculty contributing to the Musculoskeletal Biomechancis Graduate Program come from a variety of disciplines (Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering, Exercise Science, Orthopaedics, Pediatrics, Obstetrics, Radiology, Anatomy, Physiology, and Cell Biology) and therefore have a broad spectrum of research interests. The ongoing research opportunities are diverse and include such areas as orthopaedic biomechanics (the study of many aspects of bone, cartilage, muscle, tendon, and ligament development, adaptation, injury and repair) and gross movement biomechanics (the study of whole body movement and the forces imposed on individual tissues to create such movements from basic, applied, and clinical perspectives).

Faculty with Interests in Musculoskeletal Biomechanics:

Kyriacos A. Athanasiou athanasiou@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1033
Keith Baar kbaar@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3367
Blaine A. Christiansen bchristiansen@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-3974
David Fyhrie dpfyhrie@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-5079
Jeffery C. Gibeling jcgibeling@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7037
Dominik Haudenschild dominik.haudenschild@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
David A. Hawkins dahawkins@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-2748
Stephen Howell smhowell@ucdavis.edu
Mont Hubbard mhubbard@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6450
Maury L. Hull mlhull@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6220
Sanjay S. Joshi maejoshi@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9662
Bahram Ravani bravani@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6130
Nesrin Sarigul-Klijn nsarigulklign@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0682
James F. Shackelford jfshackelford@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-4030
Susan M. Stover smstover@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7438
Keith R. Williams krwilliams@ucdavis.edu <(530) 752-3337