UC Davis Biomedical Engineering


Biomedical Imaging

Medical imaging considers novel approaches to visualizing biological tissues with the general goal of improving health. The results of research in medical imaging provide better diagnostic tools in clinical settings and improve the development of drugs and other therapies. The Department of Biomedical Engineering at UC Davis is actively contributing to both of these areas in an interdisciplinary environment. Faculty and graduate students are involved in the development and application of new instruments and techniques in magnetic resonance imaging, ultrasound, positron emission tomography, computed tomography and optical imaging. With the larger departmental emphasis on genomics, techniques to image molecular and cellular events are emphasized. An array of courses are available to give students the necessary background and to teach the unifying theories of the field. Research laboratories provide specific training and hands-on experience.

Faculty with Interests in Biomedical Imaging:

Ramsey D. Badawi ramsey.badawi@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu (916) 734-7940
John M. Boone jmboone@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-3158
Michael H. Buonocore mhbuonocore@ucdavis.edu (916) 762-6123
Owen Carmichael ocarmichael@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9657
Simon R. Cherry srcherry@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9419
Katherine W. Ferrara kwferrara@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1033
Thomas Jue tjue@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-4569
Angelique Louie aylouie@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7134
Laura Marcu lmarcu@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0288
Dennis L. Matthews dlmatthews@ucdavis.edu (925) 422-5360
Jinyi Qi qi@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6142
Anthony Seibert jaseibert@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-0311
Vivek Srinivasan vjsriniv@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-9277
Julie Sutcliffe jlsutcliffe@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-7107
Sebastian Wachsmann-Hogiu swachsmann@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-1774