UC Davis Biomedical Engineering


Bioinformatics

The biological sciences currently are experiencing an era of unprecedented expansion. Massive amounts of information are being generated on biological systems at all scales, from the molecular to the complete organism. Sophisticated new mathematical and computational methods must be developed to integrate this flood of information into a coherent understanding of the structures and functions of the systems involved. This is a revolutionary paradigm shift, in which biology is increasingly becoming an information science.This biological revolution will have as profound an impact on society as the industrial revolution of the 19th century and the computer-based revolution of the late 20th century. The medical, agricultural and biological sciences will be transformed by a spate of new techniques and technologies that will be developed from the knowledge derived in this manner.

The Computational Bioengineering program within the BME department seeks to train the future leaders of this revolution. For this purpose we are developing a highly interdisciplinary program of study and research, which will encompass areas ranging from applied mathematics and computer science to molecular and whole organism biology. This program will provide its graduates with the expertise to develop and apply new mathematical and computational methods addressing key problems at the frontiers of biology.

Faculty with Interests in Bioinformatics:

Sharon Aviran saviran@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6978
Craig J. Benham cjbenham@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9647
Yong Duan duan@ucdavis.edu (530) 754 7632
Marc Facciotti mtfacciotti@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3781
David Fyhrie dpfyhrie@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-5079
Patrice Koehl koehl@cs.ucdavis.edu (530) 754 5121
Alexander Mogilner mogilner@math.ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1072
Tony Passerini agpasserini@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6715
David M. Rocke dmrocke@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6999
Leonor Saiz lsaiz@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6700
Michael A. Savageau masavageau@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-8375
Ilias Tagkopoulos itagkopoulos@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7707

Research Resources:

  • The UC Davis Genome Center will develop a research program in bioinformatics with seven faculty and state-of-the-art computing facilities.
  • The Computer Science Department is developing a program in computational biology that focuses on algorithmics.
  • The Institute for Theoretical Dynamics houses mathematicians and theoretical scientists whose research focuses on understanding the dynamics of systems from the biological and physical sciences.
  • UC Davis is developing a bioinformatics service core to address the needs of scientific groups throughout campus for access to computing resources and databases.
  • A large number of groups in all areas of the life sciences are finding that progress in their research requires the development and/or use of advanced mathematical and computational techniques.