UC Davis Biomedical Engineering


Cellular And Molecular Systems

Cellular and molecular engineering focuses on the principles and methods of the physical and biological sciences, medicine and engineering to understand human and animal physiology and pathology. Using tools in biochemistry, cell biology, immunology, and genetics, a primary objective is to engineer cells and tissues for therapeutic applications. This interdisciplinary systems approach has yielded rapid advances and clinical therapies as applied to structural tissue repair (e.g., skin, bone, cartilage, tendon, muscle, and blood vessel). It is now possible to enhance metabolic function (e.g., liver), improve the efficiency of drug delivery, and target cell-based gene therapy, and design small molecule antagonists and therapeutics for inflammation. The research combines the principles of molecular and cellular biology and medicine with essential elements from biophysics, solid and fluid mechanics, thermodynamics and physical chemistry to provide a rigorous background for research in industrial and academic environments.

Faculty with Interests in Cellular and Molecular Systems:

Ralph C. Aldredge rcaldredge@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-5016
Kyriacos A. Athanasiou athanasiou@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1033
Sharon Aviran saviran@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6978
Craig J. Benham cjbenham@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9647
Ye Chen-Izu ychenizu@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3232
Fitz-Roy E. Curry fecurry@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6716
Cristina Davis cedavis@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9004
Florin Despa fdespa@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-4334
Marc Facciotti mtfacciotti@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-3781
Volkmar Heinrich vheinrich@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6644
Richard A. Kiehl rakiehl@ece.ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0636
Gerald J. Kost gjkost@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7355
Tonya L. Kuhl tlkuhl@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-5911
Kit S. Lam kslam@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-8012
J. Kent Leach jkleach@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9149
Marjorie L. Longo mllongo@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6348
Angelique Louie aylouie@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7134
Alexander Mogilner mogilner@math.ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1072
Jan Nolta jan.nolta@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu (916) 453-2335
Stephen O’Driscoll odriscoll@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-0435
Tingrui Pan tingrui@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9508
Tony Passerini agpasserini@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-6715
A. Hari Reddi ahreddi@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-3311
Alexander Revzin arevzin@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-2383
Crystal M. Ripplinger cripplinger@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-1569
Leonor Saiz lsaiz@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-6700
Eduardo Silva esilva@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-7107
Scott I. Simon sisimon@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-0299
Yoshikazu Takada ytakada@ucdavis.edu (916) 734-7442
Cheemeng Tan cmtan@ucdavis.edu (530) 752-7849
Alice Tarantal aftarantal@primate.ucdavis.edu  (530) 752-0447
Soichiro Yamada syamada@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-7251
Yohei Yokobayashi yoko@ucdavis.edu (530) 754-9676